Histology Guide

virtual microscopy laboratory

Chapter 18 - Female Reproductive System

The organs of the female reproductive system are the ovaries, oviducts, uterus, vagina, placenta, and mammary glands. Their functions include the production of ova, fertilization, development of the fetus, birth, and nutrition of the newborn.


The ovaries are responsible for the production of female gametes (ova) and secretion of female sex hormones (estrogen and progesterone). When it releases a mature ovum, it travels down the oviduct to the uterus.


The oviducts (fallopian tubes; uterine tubes) are fibromuscular tubes that transport an ovulated ovum from the ovary to the uterus. Fertilization usually takes place in the oviduct.